Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



The AIP runs a monthly bulletin that goes out to over 4000 scientists, future scientists and those interested in science!

To subscribe to the AIP bulletin, please email

To provide physics news, please email

To advertise in the bulletin, see our Jobs page.

Previous AIP bulletins can be found here. Bulletins prior to June 2021 can be found here.

<< First  < Prev   ...   13   14   15   16   17   Next >  Last >> 
  • 1 Jul 2021 10:48 AM | Anonymous

    The AIP Theoretical Physics Group recently hosted a talk by MIT’s Professor Tracy Slatyer on possible signals of novel dark matter physics. If you missed it, you can catch it here.

  • 1 Jul 2021 10:46 AM | Anonymous

    The AIP has teamed up with the Astronomical Society of Australia to form the Group for Astroparticle Physics (GAP). The group provides a new forum for scientists working in astronomy and particle physics to discuss the many areas of overlap between the two.

    In coming weeks, we’ll issue a shout-out for members interested in joining the inaugural committee.

    For more information, email Gavin Rowell via

  • 1 Jul 2021 10:19 AM | Anonymous

    A workshop on writing grant applications and papers will be held at the Australian National University in Canberra across three days starting on Monday, September 20.

    The program is designed for female early career researchers in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine. More details and registration here.

  • 1 Jul 2021 10:09 AM | Anonymous

    The Diversity and Equity Group in Australian Physics (DEGAP) is on the hunt for a new Chair, following the departure of the former office holder, Victoria Coleman.

    If you are interested in the role of Chair of DEGAP please reach out to Victoria herself, Sven Rogge, Nicole Bell or Jodie Bradby. The AIP views this as an important leadership position.

    Information on DEGAP can be found here.

  • 19 Jun 2021 12:07 PM | Anonymous

    The AIP are delighted to 
    announce the outcomes for the 

    following 2020 awards:


    Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

    The University of Queensland

    For her pioneering work in laser micromanipulation, atom and quantum optics, ultracold atomic gases, nano-optics and biophotonics. Her seminal research in the mechanical action of light in biological and micron scale systems has paved the way for optically driven micromachines and led to applications in a diverse range of fields. Her distinguished achievements in laser cooling and trapping of atoms includes milestones such as the experimental demonstration of dynamical tunnelling and the observation of novel coherent structures in condensed gases.


    Professor Ann Roberts

    The University of Melbourne

    Professor Roberts has provided an outstanding contribution to the fields of Plasmonics, Nanophotonics, and Optics more broadly. Her deep understanding of fundamental optics has enabled new advances in art conservation and attribution, particularly in collaboration with the Grimwade Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation, and to the development of new generation banknote security features in collaboration with the Reserve Bank of Australia.


    Associate Professor Elizabeth Angstmann

    The University of New South Wales

    For her outstanding contribution to physics education in Australia by developing innovative approaches to first year and service teaching, increasing the number of students voluntarily electing to study physics, and establishing programs to improve the experience of secondary school physics students in New South Wales.


    Dr Magdalena Zych

    The University of Queensland

    For her development of an innovative new framework that incorporates relativistic time dilation into the theory of quantum mechanics, and discovery that time dilation leads to a novel form of quantum entanglement and decoherence; and the subsequent proposal of the new paradigm of ‘quantum clock interferometry’.

    We congratulate these award winners on their achievements!

    Due to a confluence of events including COVID-19 we are still finalizing the award winners for 2019. The decision was made to go ahead with the announcement of these 2020 awards so as not to further compound these delays. 

<< First  < Prev   ...   13   14   15   16   17   Next >  Last >> 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software