Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


AIP congratulates physics Nobel Prize winners

6 Oct 2021 1:03 PM | Anonymous

The AIP congratulates Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi who have jointly been awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize for Physics.

One half of the prize went to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann, who pioneered climate models and linked them to measurements quantifying variability and reliably predicting global heating.

The other half went to Giorgio Parisi for his discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems that range from QCD to disordered solids and had a direct impact on understanding climate modes. Even though he did not directly work in climate science, he made urgent statements to tackle global warming.

This year's award showcases the role of physics as a fundamental enabling science , with meteorological measurements, climate modelling, and fundamental insights into complex systems coming together to have impact on one of the most important issues for our society.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software