Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Physicists honoured in Academy of Science awards

31 Mar 2023 10:04 AM | Anonymous

Collage of Academy of Science award winnersCongratulations to the recipients of the Australian Academy of Science’s (AAS) 2023 honorific awards.

Among them we find physicists working on gravitational waves, atomic structures of glass and the ‘world’s thinnest lens’.

From an interest sparked while watching the moon landing on television to detecting gravitational waves from the hearts of neutron stars: Prof Susan Scott, from The Australian National University, has been awarded the 2023 AAS Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal for outstanding achievements in maths and physics.

Using physics to understanding the structure of disordered solids like different types of glass: congratulations to Dr Amelia Liu, from Monash University, who was awarded the 2023 AAS John Booker Medal in Engineering Science.

"Nanotechnology allows us to do big things from a tiny world": congratulations to Prof Yuerui Lu, from ANU, who is winner of the AAS Pawsey Medal 2023 for outstanding research in physics.

See ‘Australia’s stars of science’ on the AAS website.

Nominations are now open for the 2024 honorific awards. Nominations close 1 May 2023.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software