Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Congratulations to our 2021 AIP Medal winners

1 Feb 2022 9:00 AM | Anonymous

We are thrilled to announce the following winners of our competitive Medals, honouring the brilliant work of Australian physicists:

2021 Walter Boas Medal Professor Howard Wiseman (Griffith University)

For elucidating fundamental limits arising from quantum theory, in particular in its applications to metrology and laser science, and via its implications for the foundations of reality.

This Medal aims to promote excellence in physics research and perpetuate the name of metallurgist and physicist Walter Boas.

2021 Bragg Gold Medal Dr Timothy Gray (Australian National University)

For the thesis entitled: Electromagnetic Moments and Emerging Nuclear Collectivity near Z = 50

This Medal recognises the most outstanding physics PhD thesis by an Australian University student.

It was named after Sir Lawrence Bragg and his father Sir William Bragg, who jointly won the Nobel Prize for their work in x-ray crystallography .

2021 TH Laby Medal - Ethan Payne (Monash University)

For the thesis entitled: Probing the Universe through gravitational waves

This Medal commerates physicist and chemist Thomas Howell Laby and is given to the best Honours or Masters thesis from an Australian University student.

We congratulate the award winners on their achievements – well done!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software