Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Call for new AIP Accreditation Committee members

24 Apr 2023 10:18 PM | Anonymous

On behalf of our Manager of the Australian Institute of Physics  Accreditation Committee, Prof Tim McIntyre, we are seeking expression of interest to recruit new members to the committee. 

The role of the committee is to accredit Australian Bachelor degrees with a physics major. Such accreditations are conducted every five years by a panel of three members drawn from the committee. The panel reviews documentation provided by the university to be accredited and then conducts a one-day on-site visit.

Recently, several members of the Accreditation Committee have chosen to step down (one from NSW). We are thus looking to recruit new NSW members to the committee. 

Currently, the NSW state branch has the following members on the Committee:

  • Prof John Holdsworth (University of Newcastle)
  • Prof Michael Wheatland (University of Sydney)

The full committee membership is available on the following page:

The attached document provides further details about the role of members. 

In recruiting new members, we would like to continue to enhance the gender balance and diversity of members on the committee.

Nominations should include a short 1-2 page CV for the nominee including teaching experience and an accompanying 1-2 page letter from the state executive supporting the nomination. 

Nominations are required by 31st May 2023 and should be sent to: 

Professor Tim McIntyre

BSc(Hons), PhD, SFHEA

AIP Accreditation Committee Manager


All nominations will be considered by the Accreditation Manager in consultation with the AIP Executive and the successful applicants advised.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software