Women in Physics Lecturer

Women in Physics Lecturer


The Australian Institute of Physics Women in Physics Lecture Tour celebrates the contribution of women to advances in physics. Under this scheme, a woman who has made a significant contribution in a field of physics will be selected to present lectures in venues arranged by each participating branch of the AIP. Nominations are currently sought for the AIP WIP Lecturer for 2019. We are seeking a woman working in Australia who:

  • has made a significant contribution in a field of physics research
  • has demonstrated public speaking ability
  • is available in 2019 to visit Canberra and each of the six Australian State capital cities and surrounding regions.

Presentations will include school lectures, public lectures and research colloquia, subject to negotiation with the various AIP branches and their contacts. School and public lectures are expected to be of interest to non-specialist physics audiences, and to increase awareness among students and their families of the possibilities offered by continuing to study physics. University lectures will be presented at a level suitable for the individual audience (professional or graduate). Air/surface travel and accommodation will be provided.

Nominations should be sent via mail or email to the AIP Special Projects Officer (see information below) via the nomination form (please click here to download the nomination form).  Self-nomination is welcomed, as are nominations from branches or employers/colleagues.

Nomination Requirements

  1. Completed WIP Lecture Tour Nomination Form
  2. Information requested on the nomination form include the following:
  • Nominee’s name and contact details,
  • a detailed record of presentations to the general public, schools and media
  • a brief statement of the research area of interest to the nominee
  • an outline of the nominee’s significant contribution to physics
  • references to key publications in which these contributions were presented (via curriculum vitae)
  • evidence of the nominee’s ability to give a lecture which will excite an enthusiastic response in senior secondary and undergraduate students. (NOTE: this requirement must be adequately addressed in order for the nominee to be considered for selection)
  • Self-nominations should include names of two referees who can attest to the ability of the nominee to give lectures appropriate for the target audience.

Closing Date1st August 2018

Applications and nominations should be sent by email  to the AIP Special Projects Officer:

Previous AIP Women in Physics Lecturers

  • 2018 Dr Ceri Brenner, Central Laser Facility, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
  • 2017 Dr Katie Mack, University of Melbourne
  • 2016 Dr Catalina Oana Curceanu, Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati dell’INFN, Italy
  • 2015 A/Prof Jodie Bradby, Australian National University
  • 2014 Professor Sheila Rowan, University of Glasgow
  • 2013 Professor Elisabetta Barberio, School of Physics, University of Melbourne
  • 2011 Dr Tamara Davis, School of Mathematics and Physics, University of Queensland
  • 2010 Professor Elizabeth Winstanley, Dept of Applied Mathematics, University of Sheffield
  • 2009 A/Prof. Christine Charles, Space Plasma, Power & Propulsion Group, Australian National University
  • 2007 – 2008 Prof. Tanya Monro, School of Chemistry and Physics, University of Adelaide.
  • 2006 Prof. Deb Kane, Physics Department, Macquarie University.
  • 2005 Prof. Helen Quinn, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Menlo Park, CA, USA
  • 2004 Dr. Nanda Dasgupta, Department of Nuclear Physics, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Australian National University
  • 2003 Prof. Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, School of Physical Sciences, The University of Queensland
  • 2002 A/Prof. Lidia Morawska, School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, Queensland University of Technology
  • 2001 Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez, Department of Physics, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • 2000 Dr. Michelle Simmons, School of Physics, University of New South Wales
  • 1999 Prof. Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Open University, UK
  • 1998 Dr. Christine Davies, Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow, UK
  • 1997 Dr. Rachel Webster, School of Physics, University of Melbourne