Physics Education Group (PEG)

The Physics Education Group (PEG) of the AIP provides a forum for the advancement of physics education through research and practice. It is also responsible for the education stream at the biennial AIP congress.

Terms of Reference
  • to advise the National AIP Council on educational matters
  • to be responsible for the Education program at National Congresses
  • to provide a communication channel by which AIP members in each state, concerned about Physics Education, can communicate with each other, on educational issues
  • to develop a network of university physics societies to benefit undergraduate and postgraduate students
  • to encourage State branches to conduct special workshops on science education and in-service training courses for teachers
  • to have a special concern for the popularisation of science
  • to be aware of what is happening in Physics Education outside of Australia, and to investigate the possibility of bringing workshop speakers from interstate/overseas
  • to establish an on-line resource for physics teachers around Australia*
  • to develop a program of activities and support for teachers of physics in both the secondary and tertiary sectors*
  • to provide feedback to high school teachers on the strengths and weaknesses of the current curriculum materials*
  • to ensure that at each Congress there is at least one overseas Physics Education plenary speaker, sponsored by the national AIP
  • to advise the Congress committee on the names of suitable Physics Education plenary speaker.
AIP Education Medal

The AIP Education medal recognises an outstanding contribution by an AIP member to University physics education in Australia.

Reports of Previous Meetings
Annual Reports

Annual General Meeting Minutes

PEG Contacts

PEG Committee

PEG POSITION NAME CONTACT INSTITUTION
Convenor / Secretary Maria Parappilly maria.parappilly#flinders.edu.au Flinders University
Deputy Convenor / Treasurer Jasmina Lazendic-Galloway jasmina.lazendic-galloway#monash.edu Monash University
National Advisor to the PEG Peter Wilson peter.w.wilson#utas.edu.au University of Tasmania
Officer for Special Projects John Daicopoulos john.daicopoulos#jcu.edu.au James Cook University
ACT representative David Low d.low#adfa.edu.au Australian Defence Force Academy
NSW representative John Furst john.furst#newcastle.edu.au University Of Newcastle
Qld representative Margaret Wegener wegener#physics.uq.edu.au University of Queensland
SA representative Maria Parappilly maria.parappilly#flinders.edu.au Flinders University
Tas representative Simon Ellingsen Simon.Elllingsen#utas.edu.au University of Tasmania
Vic representative Theo Hughes theo.hughes#monash.edu Monash University
WA representative Geoff Swan g.swan#ecu.edu.au Edith Cowan University

 

Useful Links:

PEG Blog

Reference Material:

LTAS Physics Standards Statement