Medals, Awards and Prizes

The following medals and awards are presented by the AIP each year.

  • The Walter Boas Medal
    This award aims to promote excellence in research in physics in Australia and to perpetuate the name of Walter Boas.
    Nominations close 1 June each year.
  • The Bragg Gold Medal for Excellence in Physics
    The Bragg Gold Medal for the best PhD thesis by a student from an Australian University was established in 1992 as an initiative of the South Australian branch, to commemorate Sir Laurence Bragg and his father Sir William Bragg.
    Nominations must reach the Secretary of the local State Branch by 1 July each year.
  • The AIP Women in Physics Lecturer
    The Australian Institute of Physics International Women in Physics Lecture Series was instituted to celebrate the contribution of women to advances in physics.
    Nominations close 30 November 2016.

The following medals and awards are awarded by the AIP biennially in even numbered years.  The next call for these awards closes on 1 June 2018.

  • The Harrie Massey Medal and Prize
    This prize is awarded every two years for contributions made by an Australian physicist working anywhere in the world, or to a non-Australian for work they have carried out in Australia.
  • The AIP Education Medal
    This prize is to recognize an outstanding contribution to physics education in Australia.

The CN Yang Award is presented by the  AIP Executive and the AAPPS to early-career physicists in any subfields.