All posts by aipWPEditor

Physics in the Pub

Date: Friday 24th March 2017
Time: 6 – 8 PM
Venue: Rob Roy Hotel, 106 Halifax St
Cost: Hopefully zero

Grab a drink and a snack in a relaxed pub environment and listen to local physicists talking and laughing about their research. Eight snappy physics acts, eight minutes long from local physicists working on astronomy, quantum physics, geophysics and more.

Register at: Eventbrite

Silver Bragg Medal 2016

Dr Andrew Mackinnon (SA branch Vice Chair) presented a Silver Bragg medal to Joshua Crilly in recognition of excellent achievement in Physics in the 2015 final-year physics examinations at the University of Adelaide.

Dr Andrew Mackinnon (SA branch Vice Chair) presented a Silver Bragg medal to Jordan Wray in recognition of excellent achievement in Physics in the 2015 final-year physics examinations at Flinders University.

Bronze Bragg Medal 2016


Professor Gunther Andersson (SA branch Chair) presented the Bronze Bragg medal to James Petchey for outstanding achievement in Physics in the 2015 SACE Stage 2 assessments. Following the presentation A/Prof. Gary Hill (right) gave a public lecture titled “Neutrinos, the Nobel Prize and a New Window on the Universe”.

Welcome from the QLD Branch Committee 2017

The newly elected QLD Branch committee for 2017 will take up its activities with its first branch meeting in February.

Planned activities for the year are:

John Mainstone Yourh Lecture Tour, for which we have secured our two speakers Helen Maynard-Casely  from ANSTO. Helen will be our main speaker for 2017 and travel the vast stretches of Queensland from the south east corner starting at the Gold Coast to the far north reaching Cairns.
Our second speaker is Sean Powell of QUT   who also presented at our Careers Evening in 2016. Sean will do the Mt. Isa part of our tour this year and will do the main tour in 2017.

If you are a teacher at a QLD high school and would like to discuss the possibility of the John Mainstone Lecture Tour visiting your area either this year or in 2018, please contact the Branch Chair or secretary.

We will also be holding a careers evening again this year with speakers and location to be determined. If you are interested in attending, please like and follow our Facebook Page, and watch the announcements for future details.
If you would like to propose potential presenters, please email the Branch Chair.

Women in Physics: We will also be hosting and coordinating a lecture series of the AIP’s Women In Physics Lecturer. The timeline for these will be published once the lecturer has been selected and their availability has been confirmed. If you are interested to host the WiP lecturer for either a school presentation, a public talk or a colloquium, please contact the Branch Chair.

During August the Branch Committee will also select the Queensland Nominee for the Bragg Gold Medal. The Bragg Gold Medal is awarded each year for the graduating student from an Australian University with the best PhD thesis in Physics.

We will also again be awarding the Queensland Branch  AIP Certificates for Excellence in Physics. These awards are made to high school students achieving a VHA4 or higher at Verification.
The call for nominations will be made in September 2017.





Victorian Branch Nobel Lecture and Annual General Meeting (AGM) 1 Dec

Due to a clash with the Australian Synchrotron User’s Meeting, the Victorian Branch Nobel Lecture and Annual General Meeting (AGM) has been postponed. They will now be held on Thursday 1stDecember at Swinburne.

The Nobel Lecture will be given by Prof. Michael Fuhrer.

 Date: Thursday the 1st of December 2016

Venue: Swinburne University, Hawthorn campus, BA building, BA201 (enter from Burwood Road)

Time: lecture 6.30 – 7.30 pm, AIP AGM 7.30 – 8:00 pm


The AGM will be held directly after the lecture at the same location. Please find attached a poster (2016_Nobel_Lecture_MFuhrer) on the lecture and  a map showing the location of the lecture hall at Swinburne’s Hawthorn Campus.